Faith take 2

So, I know from class faith for Paul was an action that was sacrificial for someone else. However, Friday night during spring break faith was something different. It was my old understanding of what faith is. Faith was knowing in a traumatic situation that I was not alone. Basically outside of my apartment there was a lot of drama going on that lasted for several hours. Ended with someone trying to break into my apartment. As I was listening to someone trying to come through my door it sounded like a person was swinging something as hard as they could against my door or using the full force of their body to run against my door. Whatever, they were doing the force was so strong that the door was creaking under the pressure. They did succeed in breaking into my neighbor’s apartment across the hall. When I heard the sound I was siting on the couch watching TV. Once I figured out what it was I got to the safest part of my 418 square feet apartment and called 911 and pray. I had some fear but not the amount of fear that I wasn’t rational. As I was praying I felt this peace and just some how knew that I was not alone and I was safe. It was this part of my life that makes up with who I am called Christianity. IT was this understanding of what modern Christianity called faith that made me know that everything was going to be okay.

 

Give Me Your Eyes

So I was writing this blog I had an instant decision that I had to make. As I was writing on faith I saw someone a total stranger through God’s eyes. In the school library their was a presentation that was done today. I was studying on the other side of the library. When it was over after the majority of the people had left I noticed this older gentleman walking with a cane. He was holding on to anything he could hold on to so he could balance. He came to the point that there was nothing left to hold to. This was when I looked up while the gentleman was unaware and noticed has panicked look in his eyes. So, God convicted me because I knew what needed to be done. I was going to live out what I claim to be and including Paul what he says faith means. Also, does this motto that is engraved above the doors on Flowers Hall “Enter to grow in wisdom, Go forth and apply wisdom in service”. Was this motto just a catchy phrase? What we have repeatedly discussed in class about being relational and connecting people to Christ through us does this mean anything to me. So, I got up and spoke to the gentleman and stretched my arm out to help him. As we slowly walked to his car in front of Flowers Hall I find out how much this father loves his daughter as he told me so much about her. I also found out that he is a member of Frazer United Methodist Church. I shared with him that I am also a Methodist and a member of Saint James United Methodist Church. So, an hour later I am back in the library finishing this blog. This person was a total stranger to me with a very grateful heart. Mr. Lonnie Jones thank you for teaching me a lesson today.

Leave a comment